All India Pooja Tournament

The famous Pooja Knock- out Tournament, the brain child of the late Shri. KV Kelappan Thampuran (dearly called as Kelamman) conducted by TCC is indisputably the first ever limited over tournament in the WORLD. A livewire in the game, Shri. Thampuran nurtured the game so dearly that Cochin became the cradle of Kerala cricket thereon. The tournament enters the 63rd year.

The participants of the tournament were initially by the local clubs in Ernakulam. The tournament captured much name and fame attracting more clubs from other parts of Kerala and even from outside Kerala. TCC later obtained All India Tournament Status from BCCI and then on teams from Tamil Nadu, Karnataka, Andhra, Hyderabad and even from Bengal started participating in the tournament. The club celebrated its diamond jubilee of the tournament a couple of years back.

Lakshman Memorial All India Tournament

Another All India tournament conducted in Ernakulam had been the Lakshman Memorial Trophy. Mattanchery Youngsters Cricket Association (MYCA) conducted the tournament for 25 years under the guile and wile of Shri. T.N. Ananthanarayanan, the present Secretary of KCA. It was unfortunate that the tournament after its Silver Jubilee ended to the utter disappointment of the enthusiasts when the organizers faced difficulties to obtain the Parade Ground at Fort Cochin.

BPCL Kochi Refinery All India Tournament

This tournament is the next notable All India Tournament held in Ernakulam. The man behind this tournament is Shri. P Balachandran, a disciple of Shri. Kelamman. The tournament enters the 27th year.

KTR Varma Tournament

This is another major event, conducted directly by EDCA in memory of the late Shri. KTR Varma, a dashing batsman of yester years. This is not an invitation tournament. The champion clubs of each division in the League Tournament of EDCA only are eligible to participate. The tournament celebrates its Silver Jubilee next year.

All Kerala Coromandel Cement Cricket Tournament

This is the next major All Kerala Tournament in Ernakulam. Conducted by Ernakulam Cricket Club, the tournament enters the 33rd year.

NS Krishnan Memorial All Kerala Inter School Tournament

The tournament held in Eranakulam by Swantons Cricket Club is in memory of the late Shri. NS Krishan the founder of the club, who had a keen knack in unearthing talents and nurturing them to higher level. He was the man behind in producing cricketers like Tinu Yohannan, K Jayaraman, M Soman, Feroze V Rasheed, Ajay Kudua, MP Sorab, CM Deepak, CM Shyam, Varun Girilal, M Sebastian Antony, Robert Fernandez.. the list is endless! The tournament enters the 14th year.

All Kerala Muthoot Pappachan Foundation Twenty 20 Cricket Tournament

The other flourishing tournaments in Ernakulam is the Muthoot Pappachan Group T-20 tournament conducted by Ernakulam Cricket Club

All Kerala Century Inter School Tournament

The All Kerala Inter School Tournament conducted by Century Cricket Club

The junior players of Ernakulam have enriched much experience and expertise by participating in the above tournaments to prosper their career.




Copyright © 2013-2017 Ernakulam District Cricket Association and CricketArchive